Board Members

2019 – 2020 Board Members

Edmund Han | MRS President

Edmund is a third-year PhD student in Materials Science and Engineering. He studies the bending mechanics of 2D materials in Pinshane Huang’s research group. He received his bachelor’s degree in Materials Science and Engineering from Rutgers University in 2017. He enjoys playing volleyball, ultimate frisbee, and music.

Nathan Fritz | MRS Vice-President

Nathan is a second-year PhD student researching advanced anode materials for lithium-ion batteries. He earned his Bachelors Degree in Physics from Colgate University and his Masters of Science in Materials Science from Columbia University. Nathan is an avid cellist who enjoys cooking, playing volleyball, and traveling.


Nachiket (Nachi) Shah | MRS Secretary

Nachi is a first year PhD student at the Materials Science and Engineering Department at UIUC. He received his Bachelors Degree in Materials Engineering from the University of California, Los Angeles in 2019. Nachi has an unhealthy obsession with coffee; grad school is therefore an incredible opportunity for him to become a connoisseur/nut on the side.


Anaeli Shockey | MRS Treasurer

Shockey is a first year Master Student in the Materials Sciences and Engineering department. She received her Bachelors Degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez in 2018. She loves staying active with the gym, yoga, rock climbing, and hiking, but also loves puzzles , gardening and crocheting.

Justine Paul | MRS Social Coordinator

Justine is a second year PhD student in Materials Science and Engineering. She received her Bachelors Degree in Bioengineering from Syracuse University. She loves spending time outdoors, playing and watching a variety of sports, running, skiing, cooking, and gardening.